How do I get my enemy to move once, then go idle, then move again? In a more methodical patrol

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Change the size and position of everything without calculating anything!
  • Sorry for the long title, I'm confused how to phrase my problem briefly. I drew an enemy (a toad), and he has an idle animation, and a hop. I want him to cycle the idle animation ONCE, then hop to the left ONCE, and repeat ad infinitum until he hits my collision wall to reverse (mirror) his animation, or the player stomps him. I cannot figure out how to set up the event sheet for this.

I'm new to this, so please keep that in mind when typing answers - I may not know lingo or acronyms.

Thank you

• Because what you're describing is animation based, at a basic level you can make use of 'on animation finished', so 'on Idle animation finished' set animation to hop. 'on hop animation finished' set animation to idle, to flick between them.

The problem here is when you say hop to the left it sounds like movement and with that logic he won't move so it's up to you how much he moves. What does hop once mean in context of your platformer ? He moves a little bit and plays hop ?

If he moves only when the hop anim plays one time then you could still make use of animation events, so 'is hop animation playing' then simulate control on the frog.

• Thank you for replying!

The context (I believe):

When the screen starts, I want the toad's idle animation to play once, then he "moves left" (hop animation) for 16 pixels (or some very short distance), and then the hop animation stops, and the idle animation begins again, for one cycle, and I want this to continue until the toad bumps into my collision wall and turns around (mirror) and repeats the action in the opposite direction.