How do I set a tiled-board for a chess-like board game?

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
Beautiful Black & White Chess Pieces for Chess Game.
  • I am new to Construct. Long time ago, I saw there was a plugin for C2 to make chess-like boards as backgrounds for board games.

I want to insert a background picture and set a grid of tiles on it, to move the tokens. Yet, I also need some of the tiles to be of different size from the others.

How can I do that?

I am trying the tiled background item and the map tile, but they seem to be planned as obstacles for a platform game more than boxes for a board game. Maybe I am missing something...

• Well you can use a regular sprite, using different frames.

Check out the How do I FAQ for Construct 2 at the category "Tiling / Grid" to have examples on how to do it.

The tiled background or the tilemap plugins can be used as scenery and not obstacles.

You put them in the background and disable their collisions, they won't interfere with other elements.

It sounds more like you had a different issues in your tests with them (or perhaps got confused in some unexpected interaction).

Have you gone through the article manual for each of them to see what they can and are supposed to do ?

https://www.construct.net/en/make-games/manuals/construct-3/plugin-reference

• Actually, all my trouble came from not being able to adapt the tile movement. Linking the visual part with the logic one. I need the tokens to move around the board with tile measurement, not pixel measurement. Took a look at the C2 tutorial for Rex's board plugin and have tried that way. Kt seems nlw I can set events saying "move a number of tiles" or "if it is in that particular tile..." Am I on the right path or does it exists a way to do that all straight on with the tiled background?

• Check Construct 3 release 122 - construct.net/en/make-games/releases/beta/r122 - It now contains a new official Tile Movement behavior.