saving and loading settings with local storage

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Basic Plugins for Firebase Authentication, Realtime-Database, Firestore, Cloud Storage
  • I am quite new to the topic of saving and loading, so I'd appreciate some help.

I want to save and load a bunch of settings by using the local storage. For example, I have a global bool variable, that checks if sounds are active.

When the player closes the settings menu, I want the settings not only be stored in the global variable, but stored in the local storage as well, so that the player does not have to readjust their settings the next time they start the game.

I found the option to save data to the local storage by using "set item xyz to myValue", and I use "get item xyz" when the game starts.

The problem now is that I can't set a global bool variable to the content of another variable. I only have the option to toggle, or to set it to true or false. I can't set the bool to whatever is stored in the local storage.

I saw that there is something called binary data, but from what I read it did not lool like it is for booleans, but it looks like it works as some kind of buffer.

Can someone give me a hint please on how I can save and load bools with the local storage?

Tagged:

• What I do is:

Every time a variable (including Booleans) is changed, I call a "save" function.

This function writes ALL the variables I want to save to local storage (not just the one that just changed) to a dictionary ("Add key" action)

For example, if I have a Boolean named "mute":

Key = "mute"

Value = mute

This stores either a 0 or 1 in the dictionary against a label of "mute" (I use the same names for labels in the dictionary as the variable I'm storing there).

After I've saved all the variables to the dictionary, I then save the dictionary to local storage.

So, my dictionary is called "saved", so on the LocalStorage object, I use the Set Item action with:

Key = "saveData"