How do I make destructible effect!?

1 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
A total of 214 high quality and unique magic sound effects suitable for RPG, Battle Arena and more!
  • Hello, friends!

How are you?!

How do I make a destructible effect (with Physics) for glass?

like this photo:

These Photos For Unity But How can make this in c3 or c2?!

Thanks in advance

• Up! :)

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I'm not an expert on this though, but it seems you need something that 'holds' those pieces together like joints. The physics behavior can do that. There should be C2 or C3 tutorials for joints such as; https://www.construct.net/en/tutorials/physics-construct-forces-7

Then, use a condition, like when it hits something and you set to disconnect the joints (set them 'free') and they should fall on a solid surface.

• Creating an object from many pieces connected with joint will be a difficult task. And the joints may not hold.

It's easier to destroy the original object and spawn a bunch of pieces in its place. Here is a demo:

dropbox.com/s/lyrnh9od24ewsix/Physics_destructibleBlocks.c3p

• So the overall logic would be when a collision occurs see how hard of a collision it was and if it was hard enough break the object up.

Seeing how hard the collision was should be a matter of looking at the difference of kinetic energy (KE=0.5*mass*velocity^2) of the object before and after the collision. You can do that by saving the KE to a variable at the end of a tick to reference later.

Breaking the object up is either done with pre-made pieces or by somehow breaking it up dynamically.

The pre-made pieces way is the more doable approach. There are two ways to do it though.

1. Destroy the main object and create all the pieces.

2. Just have all the pieces joined together with joints which are later unjoined.