What type of tutorial would be most useful to you?

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
Carousel Animation, make carousel of you image gallery or anything
  • Hello,

I've been around the forums for years and feel like I want to give back to the community in some way. So I'm thinking about making a tutorial, maybe a few if it's well received. But I wanted to get your feedback on what kind of tutorial would be most useful to you.

Before I ask I'll tell you a little about myself. I've been using Construct for about 5 years. I've launched 2 construct games on Steam, Whitevale Defender, and Daka Dara. One educational game I made as a contractor (can't link that one). Also made small game jam games you can find on my itch.io page. I'm not saying those are good games, but that I've learned a lot.

First off, I'd like to focus on intermediate to advanced topics, as I feel there are plenty of really good beginner tutorials already out there. It will be Construct 3 only. Finally, I don't make mobile games nor online multiplayer games so I can't do anything related to those.

So what kind of tutorials would be most useful to you?

• How to create a specific genre with a broad take on the genre specific tropes (zelda-like, jrpg, rogue-like, city builder, survival, etc.)?
    • In-depth on a specific game topic (visual/audio effects, dialogue system, enemy AI, RPG battle system, loot system, menu system, input re-mapping system, etc.)?
    • Technical topics (loading/reading data, debugging/testing, how arrays/dictionaries work, how NWjs works, installer for NWjs export, etc.)?
    • Game design & production (brainstorming/refining ideas, pacing/balance/choice/randomness, story/meaning, scheduling/planning, production process, organizing a large C3 project, etc.)?

Those are the broad topics with a few examples to get your brain thinking. So leave a comment about what kind of tutorial will be most useful to you and I'll wait about a week before I make a decision.

Tagged: