Expert Advice

0 favourites
  • 14 posts
  • Hi guys! Im new in game design, I would just like to ask what would you suggest to us beginners as the best free sprite maker software for Construct 3? Piskel? Pain dot Net? Gimp? Graphicscale? Krita? etc.

Tagged:

• For the most part it boils down to preference. I use Krita for drawing stuff because I like how it handles drawing, but I also use Photoshop for many things.

Gimp will also do just as fine, so will Paint.net. In case of Piskel/Graphicsgale they seem to be specifically for pixel art, that´s fine if pixel art is what you want to go for.

• Aseprite is the best tool for pixel art imo.

• I read that to freely use aseprite it needs to be compiled but isn't compiled aseprite the same as cracked?

• aseprite.org It's only $15 USD, a solo dev, throw him some cash, its an amazing tool.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • thanks jobel but you can use it for free if you compile it yourself right?

• Apparently, Aseprite is not open source, so I'm not sure how you can "compile it yourself" - compared to Gimp for example.

Also, please stop talking about trying to "crack" a software in our forums.

As previously mentioned, why not supporting a solo-developer who has put hours of work in a product you are looking to use ?

Piracy talks won't be tolerated in those forums.

At last Construct does have some basic drawing tools that may help you get started and already do prototype graphics to start prototyping your games.

• Sorry there are a number of youtube videos showing how to compile Aseprite but I don't have a visual basic lol I might as well use Piskel which is free but I don't know if it's as good as all the other top 2d pixel software.

• The best tool is the one you feel comfortable with.