How do I make an uppercut with 2 buttons, down and pressed?

2 favourites
From the Asset Store
A set of retro 16-Bit Neon UI elements to make your menus pop!
  • Hi all,

I'm new to Contruct 3. For learning purposes, I use sub-zero sprite and trying to recreate all the movements on the keyboard.

I got stuck with an uppercut.

I assigned down-key --> arrow down to sitting animation, on arrow-down released I have idle animation.

And I need the uppercut animation to appear while I hold down the down arrow and press W.

This code doesn't work

Event: Keyboard: arrow-down is down --> PlayerAnimation: Sitting

Sub-Event Keyboard: on W pressed --> PlayerAnimation: UpperCut

Please help!

• Could be a few different things getting in the way, depending on how things are setup. Have you tried the two conditions under one action, rather than one main condition and a secondary sub condition?

EDIT: so something like

Event: Keyboard: arrow-down is down --> PlayerAnimation: Sitting

Second Event

Keyboard: arrow-down

Keyboard: on W pressed --> PlayerAnimation: UpperCut

EDIT 2: Not sure if this makes any sense, I'm still waking up, and half asleep lol

• Event: Keyboard: arrow-down is down --> PlayerAnimation: Sitting

Sub-Event Keyboard: on W pressed --> PlayerAnimation: UpperCut

I think what happens is that the first event is running on every tick, and "Sitting" animation immediately replaces "UpperCut" animation.

Try these three events:

arrow-down is down
    PlayerAnimation "UpperCut" is NOT playing
     --> PlayerAnimation: Sitting

on W pressed 
    arrow-down is down
     --> PlayerAnimation: UpperCut 

Player on UnpperCut animation finished
     --> PlayerAnimation: change to something else

• I think the issue is that the crouching animation is playing WHENEVER the arrow key is down and the uppercut, only when W is pressed.