How do I use touch input for scaling

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
Total customisation of the input! You can combine inputs from all peripherals. Make your game accessible for everyone!
  • I'm experiencing an issue with the zooming behavior of a sprite called "SpaceShip." I've implemented a resize button that enables the player to zoom in and out the "SpaceShip" based on touch input.

The code does exactly this, but the problem is that the initial touch on the SpaceShip always triggers the object to scale to 2 times its size before allowing further resizing. If we move it/scale in around a bit, a weird effect also coming. This behavior is undesirable, and I want the object to start resizing immediately without the initial jump to double scale.

Please help me fix the code. I'm a developer myself and still in the process of learning Construct 3 by reading other questions and answers. I've come this far, but this time I'm stuck trying to figure out how to use touch input for scaling. So, I asked for help before and received an amazing piece of code (Thanks to that user for providing the code).

drive.google.com/drive/folders/1GMGL7lDOz2LVptZfa0Mh20ekYWLpWvVB

Tagged:

• Check out this demo:

howtoconstructdemos.com/zoom-a-sprite-or-entire-screen-with-pinch-touch-gesture

There is also an official example:

editor.construct.net

• Thanks dop2000. We first went through the example you shared unfortunately that didnt helped in achieiving requirement. It would be really helpful if you please guide us or giving some hints how we can fix it

• Your spaceship sprites are scaled down by default on the layout. So when you set their scale to 1, they naturally grow to their original size.

Change the formula to something like this:

Spaceship set scale to clamp(0.5+(Touch.X-ScaleX)*0.0090, 0.3, 1.5)

I also suggest using hierarchies instead of Pin behavior.