How do stop condition from applying when it should't?

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
  • Hi (Relative Newbie here)

I am trying to get a sprite to show when a condition is met. Specifically I get the value of a variable using system>get on overlap with mouse.x & mouse.y and then copy the individual sprite value to a global variable. Then I test to see if the global variable is a 1 or 2. If it is a 1 there are 2 possible sub-events. In one I pin the sprite and in the other I have a warning sprite become visible with an opacity change. For some reason the second sub-event is applying when the global variable is 2 also. I only want it to apply when global variable = 1. Here is my snippet of code.

Thanks for any insight you might have.

Kate

• Sorry forgot to add project link.

drive.google.com/file/d/1u72S-ybMeCEF73mBEwwp3a-oOmBVMN4A/view

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I haven't looked closely at your example, but when Construct is firing off when it seems like it shouldn't I immediately wonder if a "System > Trigger once when true" event needs to be added to the conditions.

• Hmm. . . I have tried adding it both when the global variable is tested for (=1) and in the subevent after the global variable is tested for. Neither seem to make a difference. The warning sprite still pops up when the variable = 2. . . . I will set up a test file and see if I can reproduce the results there (maybe another part of the code is affecting it.

• Well, I went and tried to reproduce it seperately from the larger program. I rewrote that bit using plain geometric shapes but it doesn't repeat the warning so I must have a bug in my code. Wish me happy hunting!