[Solved] Edge Grab Mechanic

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
On the Edge is a puzzle game where you have 40 levels to have fun with.
  • A very long story made short.... Below is what I ended up coming up with earlier today, oosyrag lionz.

Feel free to critique this Edge Grab section of my Event Sheet, only if you've got a spare moment at some point, of course. It's probably a mess compared to what you folks can do. I'm just eight months back into using Construct 3 after years of no game design/development. And took most of the Winter off, while dealing with other things. It's more like 3-4 broken up months really focusing in on it. The Ludum Dare(LD50) a few weeks back really sparked a fire.

I'm still learning, and a work in progress. As is anyone. But, I always appreciate the help here at this community, and enjoy a laugh or two. Mostly just laugh at myself. Good thing learning is my favorite activity.

Until the next rambling spree... I leave you with this thing of beauty XD

• What a lovely story :)

• What a lovely story :)

Haha XD. Why, Thank You XD

I'm thinking about becoming a professional writer ;)

• I'm lost before finishing the title. What exactly are you using pin here for? Try just disabling platform behavior/default controls when you enter a ledge grabbing situation and move the sprite accordingly.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I'm lost before finishing the title. What exactly are you using pin here for? Try just disabling platform behavior/default controls when you enter a ledge grabbing situation and move the sprite accordingly.

That's what I ended up doing this morning. Disabling Platform Behavior in EdgeGrab State, and then setup a Set Position on PlayerBox using "lerp" to a position relative to the EdgeGrab Object so it looks smooth.