How do I Retrieve from Dictionary based on Number Range?

0 favourites
  • 13 posts
From the Asset Store
Advanced inventory mechanics for your RPG game (Array-based). Take Items, split them, pick up them, read the description
  • I'm quite new to Construct 3 still, so I'm just dabbling on some little projects to learn.

I have a dictionary with two instance variables: Excellent and Awful. They both are just a sentence of text.

I am randomly generating an integer between 50-100. I have a text box that I would like to populate with my Excellent instance variable text if the random integer is 80-100 and would like to populate the text box with my Awful instance variable text if the random integer is 50-79.

Thanks for the help!

• I have a dictionary with two instance variables: Excellent and Awful.

Do you mean with two keys?

You can use "System is between values" condition:

set r to int(random(101)) <- notice it's 101, not 100

Is r between 50 and 79 : Set text to dictionary.get("Awful")
    Is r between 80 and 100 : Set text to dictionary.get("Excellent")

• Thank you! I am a bit confused where I actually add in the "is r between..." parts in the event sheet. Learning curve!

• For example, this is what I have (and it's not working, obviously). I want this all to happen with the button click, but when I move the system number checks up, they don't line up with the correct action. I must be misunderstanding how it works.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • 1. You want to turn the value checks into a subevent of the on clicked event

2. You need to split those up. Right now the number would have to be both between 50-79 AND between 80-100 which is of course impossible.

• Definitely getting closer. I was surprised that this did not work.