How do I realize mouseenter and mouseleave events?

0 favourites
  • 13 posts
From the Asset Store
14 amazing sound files of game events like Level Ups, Level Completes, object spawn, object taking etc.
  • I have many instances of object with states of "default" and "highlight" and I need to change states of exact instance when mouse cursor enters its area and leave it.

I do not want to check it every tick, but when event triggers.

I tried multiple approaches and cant do it "right" and without JS-code. Im a poor programmer and cannot understand how JS-code works in Construct3 =\</p>

• It's easy to do with events running on every tick. If you worry about the performance, test it, I'm sure it will be fine.

• You can use trigger once to stop running the event after activating, effectively making it a triggered condition/event.

• If there are multiple object instances, I don't recommend using Trigger Once, it may work incorrectly. Besides, the condition will still be evaluated on every tick, so it won't give any performance increase.

• All trigger conditions are evaluated constantly aren't they?

• I CAN use use events every tick, but it does not cover my needs.

For example I have 4 custom "buttons" with sprite animations 0 as default and 1 as highlight very close to each other.

I have events "Mouse Cursor is over Button -> Set animation to 1" and "Mouse [NOT] Cursor is over Button -> Set animation to 0".

If I VERY FAST move cursor from fist to fourth "button" all objects will be highlighted.

So I need to reset animation to 0 when cursor left object to prevent that behavior.

It easily done with CSS/JS, but I dont understand how to write custom JS function in Construct3, or cant find built-it visual-code element for mouseenter and mouseleave events.

P.S. Yes, in theory I can implement some variables to check active element and reset all non-active, but it seems to be invalid approach.

• This shouldn't happen if you organize the events correctly. Try this: