How to make random movements for an Idle Villager-ish type of game?

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Easily generate many levels from a set of pre-built scenes (Construct 3 template)
  • Hello!

Newbie user here~ just want to ask what will be the logic/event processing if i want to make a certain sprite do a random movement.

The Idea is for a idle village type of game, so the villagers will be moving randomly around the village without fixed direction (well maybe it will have a fixed movement once a parameter is met like if its hungry it will go to a food source).

I was thinking it'll be like:

for X: floor(random(8))*choose(1,-1)

for Y: floor(random(8))*choose(1,-1)

then increasing the numbers for bigger movements.

I just can't fully wrap around my head on the events and processing script (im not good at programming as well). T_T

Hope to have some helping hands and some theory so i can reverse-engineer it.

Thanks for reading this post!

• I'd use the pathfinding behaviour for this. This is how it would look like:

- Every X seconds > Find path (in a radius if you want)

- On path found > Follow path

This is the most simple implementation, you can then add obstacles like houses where they can't go, or use this same behaviour to make them go to a food source as you said.

Here's a minimal implementation so you can run it and modify it: filebin.net/esgn6z1z99bbnzor

• Hello!

Newbie user here~ just want to ask what will be the logic/event processing if i want to make a certain sprite do a random movement.

The Idea is for a idle village type of game, so the villagers will be moving randomly around the village without fixed direction (well maybe it will have a fixed movement once a parameter is met like if its hungry it will go to a food source).

I was thinking it'll be like:

for X: floor(random(8))*choose(1,-1)

for Y: floor(random(8))*choose(1,-1)

then increasing the numbers for bigger movements.