How do I make a platformer pathfinding?

0 favourites
  • 2 posts
From the Asset Store
Units do not overlap each other and use different ways if there are several free ways.
  • I just want an ai that is able to chase the player until the player is either unreachable or dead anywhere in a 2d platformer environment, someone gave me a template on discord but it only takes the shortest path using the pathfinding behavior and walks and jumps towards the nodes instead of calculating the proper path, which i know is going to be hard

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Hey. I'm new to Construct, so keep that in mind when reading this. However I've tried implementing 2D platformer pathfinding numerous times in the past, with various levels of success via low-level code and/or engines like Unity.

Long story short.. This is tremendously more difficult than simple topdown pathfinding.

There are two reasons for this:

a) One is that there's no one "path node" concept in 2D platforming.

Usually you'll have to break down your platforms into specific chunks. If the entire area is traversable by walking without any jumping/falling (or heaven forbid any other move mechanics), then that's a single chunk. I call that chunk "ground" or "segment" but there's no common name for it. Then you need to keep track of each agents/enemies current node, as in which ground they are on right now. You can set this by their last landed node.