Peer will not move

0 favourites
  • 15 posts
From the Asset Store
2D fighting template based in the game that defined the fighting games genre.
  • I am building an online multiplayer game, and for the controls, the host is able to move perfectly fine. However, the peer moves both the host and the peer a little bit on its side, stops, and then moves back. I've looked over my code multiple times over, and haven't found any issues. can anyone help me with this issue?

• In C3's style of multiplayer, only the host should be controlling the movement. The peer sends his inputs to the host and the host moves the peer's character based on the peer's inputs

You need to disable the movement behaviors on the peer's side for the peer and host object. I'm assuming you're using 8 Direction. By default it needs to be deactivated, and it should only be activated on the host's game

• ah, okay. I am using the platform behavior, not 8direction, and I'm fairly new to multiplayer. here's some screenshots of the code so you can tell me specifically what I have to remove, add, or replace.

• You need to change 2 things

1. In the second screenshot move the getbits to a subevent underneath the For Each. Right now they're just floating. This is why the host isn't moving anyone but himself

2. In the third screenshot, just remove all the Platform Behavior controls in the peer's logic. Like I said in the post before, only the host should be controlling the movement. The peer should only ever send his inputs to the host

In the peer's logic you should also disable the platform behavior for any peer that is created as well. If you leave it activated there can be weird glitches as the host and peer try to reconcile the state of the game

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • so having a 2-player platformer game that uses this type of multiplayer is more or less impossible?