parsing a single word from a larger database of words?

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
From the Asset Store
Build Social Apps, Chats and Advanced Lists using Firebase Realtime-Database
  • hi all :)

many thanks in advance for any and all help you could throw my way!!! :)

MY QUESTION IS THE FOLLOWING:

what would be the best approach for having a string of text that i can draw upon randomly and have the player be scored by correct & incorrect clicks?

my goal is to help young minds build reading skills based on memory & word recognition. Essentially they are given a word, and must recall the word later from a group of words presented, correct answers are rewarded & incorrect answers tabulated.

i do plan to make it 'pretty' eventually as im a graphics animator first & foremost, but with construct i find its best to boil it down to the nitty gritty functionality first, then dress it later with polish, and as always, any and all help is GREATLY appreciated!

A WORD IS PRESENTED TO OUR YOUNG PLAYER (REINFORCED W/ AUDIO):

FOLLOWED BY A GROUP OF 5 RANDOMLY PICKED WORDS FROM OUR DATABASE OF 100 WORDS:

PLAYER IS TASKED TO SELECT THE WORD PRESENTED AT THE BEGINNING:

WRONG ANSWER IS TABULATED & DISPLAYED:

CORRECT ANSWER IS TABULATED & DISPLAYED:

the above storyboard is admittedly a bit cut and dry, but if i can wrap my brain around the best practices for the essential mechanics necessary to accomplish what im hoping to do, i can dress it up later with fancy graphics/animation/etc.. . i am open to arrays, but honestly, they are pretty confusing to me as far as how to know & match the word to my variables of which is correct/incorrect/used/etc.. . if there is an alternate easier method or suggestion as well, im open to whatever is the simplest way to achieve what im hoping to

many thanks in advance to the amazing construct community :)

kind regards,

• You can use an instance variable "Correct" on each word object, and set it as true or false.