How do I load videos from a folder on my desktop?

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
Add SubRip (SRT) subtitles to your videos in Construct 3
  • I need help! I'm a relative novice to game design, and coding in general, and need to know if the following is possible in Construct 3. Any help at all would be so appreciated!

I have a project that needs a very basic video player, which I was able to create by uploading all my video files into the project, filling an array with the filenames of those videos, and then using them as the source for a video object.

The problem is: I'd like to not have to upload the videos into the construct project first. Basically, I'd like to have a folder saved on my computer somewhere, that I'm able to fill with as many video files as I want. Then next time I run the Construct file, the game will automatically load the videos from that folder.

Can this be done? Please help me, thank you!

Tagged:

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • You can using the file system plugin, although I'm not sure if it can automatically access the folder/files.

construct.net/en/forum/construct-3/how-do-i-8/filesystem-plugin-load-local-179011

• Thank you so much!

After reading about the file system plugin, I was able to quickly retrieve a list of filenames from a folder on my hard drive.

It's okay that it doesn't automatically access the folder, I'm okay with the way I have it now: Opening the file browser and navigating to the folder I need to import. I have it so that selecting that folder fills an array with the filenames of its contents.

Now I just need help importing those files into the project. How can I get the videos in the folder into the project, so that they can be used as the source of a video object?