Global layer unexpectedly persisting on Layout it's not included in

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Globals 2.0
$3.99 USD
Globals 2.0 stores and group variables. You can also load and save data (variables) from/to JSON files.
  • Hey there,

I recently started playing around with Construct 3 and I'm encountering an odd issue involving Global Layers. I think I must be misunderstanding or misusing them in some form.

Drive link to a copy of the project I'm trying to debug:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ew2-8ElB3a-VpnNKvzSqgOAwHvUqjx_u/view?usp=drive_link

In the linked project I'm trying to create a very basic point-and-click-adventure-style navigation experience. I knew I'd have some basic UI elements that I'd want to be available on almost any view (i.e. a back button back out to the previous scene, but one might also imagine a health bar from an action game). Knowing I wanted the same UI on many different Layouts, I created a GlobalLayers Layout and added a SceneViewHUD Layer to that Layout which I marked as "Global".

This has mostly worked as intended. I've been able to add the SceneViewHUD layer to several other Scene Layouts without needing to rebuild the HUD for each of those scenes. The issue shows up if I return to a Layout where SceneViewHUD is NOT listed among the Layers for that Layout, and yet it shows up anyways.

The project opens with a very basic StartScreen Layout which doesn't include the SceneViewHUD Layer. Once the player clicks Start and enters a SceneView, this loads the SceneViewHUD Layer which includes a Back button and a Map button. Currently, the Map button just returns them to the StartScreen view. If a user clicks the Map button though, upon returning to the StartScreen Layout, the SceneViewHUD remains visible even though SceneViewHUD is not included among the Layers of the StartScreen.