How do I find the default instance of an object in my project?

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
This is a single chapter from the "Construct Starter Kit Collection". It is the Student Workbook for its Workshop.
  • I've been using Construct for many years, but still don't know the answer to this seemingly simple question - if I have lots of instances of the same object on many layouts, how do I find which instance is the default? I mean the instance which is used as a reference when a new instance is created.

Tagged:

• This topic and the one I link to in it are relevant.

construct.net/en/forum/construct-3/general-discussion-7/default-object-instance-159629

• Thanks, R0J0hound! I'll use your advice:

So it seems a good solution would be to create a layout, put one instance of every object, and move that layout to the top of the layout list.

It still sucks that there's no easy way to find the current default instance. In a big project I often waste a lot of time looking for it.

Another similar problem is finding the layout where a global layer is defined. Why do I have to open every single layout and check if the layer is overridden there or not?

• It certainly is a sore point as projects get bigger. Would be nice if the editor could point us to those things but I guess having some dummy layouts to store global layouts and default instances is what we’ll settle with for now.

• Isn't it IID 0 ?

• Each layout will have its own instance with IID 0, and it won't necessarily be the default one. I'm talking about locating it in the project.

• Isnt that what the new template function is for ?

• Isnt that what the new template function is for ?

It is, but this feature is more like a workaround than a solution. It's not feasible to set up templates for all objects in the project and it may still be necessary to find the default object instance.