Collision Issues when using Families

0 favourites
  • 3 posts
From the Asset Store
With this template you will learn how to use the GooglePlay Games native plugin
  • Hey everyone,

I'm fairly new to Construct and am encountering an issue I have been unsuccessful in resolving for several days. I have combed the forums and spent a lot of time testing different solutions, but nothing has worked thus far.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/d5tf8m99ulfmp7c/Untitled_rolling_ball_game_test.capx?dl=0

Game Objective

The goal of the game is for the player to create a path using the available blocks at the bottom to reach the goal (checkered black and white box). When the player drags a block overlapping another block or within LOS (64 pixels) and drops it, the block will pin to that block, allowing the player to construct paths for the ball fairly quickly. I'm using families to control the majority of the logic for the blocks. Using families resolved a lot of the earlier issues I was having (instances of the same object type not pinning together, etc.). However, it has caused a new issue I wasn't encountering when not using families.

The Issue

When a block leaves the UI block and is dropped on the blue tiled background, collisions with the ball should be enabled. When a block is being dragged, collisions with the ball should be disabled. This works for the most part, except when I'm dragging an instance of a block that already exists on the blue tiled background. Collision is disabled for all instances of the object type, not just the block I'm dragging.

Solution Attempts

I'm willing to bet the issue comes from a lack of understanding on how Famiilies function on my part. Here is what I've tried so far to fix the problem: