How do I check which sprite (of a large number of sprites) the user clicked on?

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Jump on numbers in the proper order and reach the sun!
  • Good morning from Germany,

I am quite new to Construct and would like to ask how the following can be achieved:

I have a large number of sprites (50 +) on the screen.

When the user clicks on one of this sprites the name of it should go into global variable to be later compared to another list of sprite names.

I found out how I can check mouse clicks for each sprite by creating many different events. Unfortunately this way is not very convenient and a little bit difficult to maintain.

I wonder, if it is possible to create one event which can be called from all of the sprites. E. g. with case-conditions or with looping.

I am sure there is a more elegant way to achieve this. So help is very appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your help :-)

LG F.

• You can add all sprites into a family "ClickableSprites", and use a single event like this:

Mouse On object ClickableSprites clicked
    ClickableSprites pick top instance // in case you have overlapping sprites
     .. set var to ClickableSprites.ObjectTypeName

• Thank you very much for your reply and help. :-)

I will try this tomorrow when I am back at my desk.

LG F.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads