How to assign one instance to another?

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Footsteps SFX One contains 400 sounds of steps and jumps on different surfaces.
  • Hello everyone,

I'm sorry for the trivial question, but I'm new to Construct, and I'm learning how to use it.

I would like to understand how to pass for example the UID of an instance to another specific instance.

If I spawn an instance through an event of a specific instance, how can I immediately assign the value of a variable to the spawned instance?

Thanks!

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I would like to understand how to pass for example the UID of an instance to another specific instance.

The UID is unique ID, each instance will have different and unique, you can't pass to another.

If I spawn an instance through an event of a specific instance, how can I immediately assign the value of a variable to the spawned instance?

You can put right after you spawn an instance, like spawn enemy then set Enemy.HP = 100.

• > I would like to understand how to pass for example the UID of an instance to another specific instance.

The UID is unique ID, each instance will have different and unique, you can't pass to another.

> If I spawn an instance through an event of a specific instance, how can I immediately assign the value of a variable to the spawned instance?

You can put right after you spawn an instance, like spawn enemy then set Enemy.HP = 100.

Thank you for your response.

Maybe I misunderstood myself in my post. What I want to pass as a reference is just the UID of the "parent instance" so that I have a unique reference of an instance.

By storing the UID of an instance inside a variable of another instance, it will be easy for me to pass other values to that instance in the future since I have its unique id as a reference.