How to make a 3d space and 2d sprite game like Don’t Starve

1 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
2d mushroom sprite 2d game character enmy sprite game art
  • How to make a 3d space and 2d sprite game like Don’t Starve, because it is annoying to always use the program to set the sprite layer level

• I don't think you can make a game similar to Don't Starve in C3, I think the closest thing is a top down game with a similar camera and that the objects stay at the same angle. But I'm new to C3 so maybe you can do a bit more

• what i could find on youtube, looks like Faux 3d, or isometric game type 2.5D you can do it in C3, but requires some trigonometry knowledge for spinning the ground and stuff. i think was a tutorial on C2 that had a 2.5D world test thing, buggy as hell, but yea you could fake that 3d effect. since is not full 3d. but you will need lots of animations and lots of medium/advanced mathematics.

however easier would be to just make the game in 3D directly using unity or something similar and just tilt the camera... towards that angle... less headaches.

another way of doing it, is doing it top-view, instead of tilted, as long as you have the story and the gameplay is good, doesn't really matter what camera angle is at.

• Here is how i do billboard sprites. Let's say you have a 320 by 240 screen.

The ground texture, you need to use some sort of mode 7. I think someone ported Rojohounds mode 7, but im not sure.

You could do a old school "Don't Starve", without the floor texture i suppose ;)

I use one "2d" sprite, and one "3d" sprite. Put those in a container, for easy picking. You can use one "3d" sprite only, but then you need a starting x position and starting y position from the 2d map view, then do the translation. Put all the variables on the "3d" sprite. That's maybe better for older computers.

Var1 = player.x - 2dsprite.x

Var2 = player.y - 2dsprite.y

Var3 = angle(0,0,Var1,Var2)-player.angle