Picking nth object after picking a random object from family?

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
A collection of various zombie characters sprites for creating a 2D platformer or sidescroller game
  • OK, so here's what I'm trying to achieve.

The set of car parts are created every 5 seconds.

Then, I want to pick a random car part of the last set that was just created.

That part will have an action, like set animation frame to 0.

Right now nothing is changing on screen like a different car part animation frame.

I'm quite new to this picking, I could sure use some advice:

Thanks.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • My approach would be to give the sets an identifier as they are created, so the parts have a variable and before you create a set of them, you increase a global variable by 1 and set the car parts ID variable to that global variable. So you end up with something like : 5 parts created all with ID=1, 5 parts created all with ID=2 etc

In your current logic you are picking a random car part instance out of ALL instances that exist. You could now limit this to pick a random car part instance where car part.ID=global variable. This picks one of the 5 most recently created car parts.

Also with your current logic it looks like you start with a family then break it down into individual object types. I don't see any reason why it couldn't be family object isSelected : set animation frame to 0. Families are used to minimize the redundant events you can see here.

• OK thanks!

I'm having trouble with the details though.

I currently have this:

Maybe I didn't understand what you meant. The car parts change, but every 5 seconds (when the function is called) it changes the part's animation frame either too late (when already on screen) or it picks a set which part was already changed.

Thanks again.