How do I make "download as JSON" work when exported as desktop app (NW.js) ?

0 favourites
  • 14 posts
From the Asset Store
The internet is bombarded daily with new apps (app is the short term for application)
  • Hello everyone,

I am very new to programming and found myself stuck with a problem I am sure you will be able to help me solve in no time.

As a PhD student in linguistics, I am not exactly making games but little programs that help me in my research.

The one I am having trouble with is a "Japanese -ru verb generator". In short, it creates random (non) verbs ending in "-ru" in Japanese while respecting the basic phonotactic rules and phoneme frequencies of the language.

The good thing is: everything works just fine on my computer when I am previewing from Construct2. I may not have programmed everything in the most elegant way, but it works ! It generates the verbs, saves everything I want to save on 5 dictionaries (the list of verbs and some of their basic inflections), and downloads those dictionaries as JSON when I click the right button.

However, I want to share my program with some colleagues. Since I could not find a way to upload it on a server (again, I am quite a noob), I thought the best option was to export it as a desktop app. So I downloaded and installed the NW.js support to do that. But if I run the game from the desktop app, when I click the "save" button, the downloading of the dictionaries doesn't work. Instead, 5 blank pages pop up (one for each dictionary).

What did I do wrong ?

By the way, here is the .capx file :

drive.google.com/open

• It works for me, but I can only download the first dictionary.

You can try adding Browser object and do "Browser invoke download of string", with string DictionaryName.AsJSON

Also, saving 5 dictionaries one by one is pretty annoying. You need to combine them into one string with line breaks between them, and then save that string.

Text Variable s