How do I save a .csv file to my server?

0 favourites
  • 13 posts
From the Asset Store
Very simple code without excess options (15 events for server and 11 events for client)
  • Hello,

I am working on a little "game" that I'll use for my research on Japanese language. This "game" takes the form of a survey in which Japanese speaker will create abbreviations of pairs of loanwords.

I made a draft of the game that works pretty well (even though it may not be very elegant. I'm still a beginner at programming).

The thing is, I'm going to upload it to a server (from the lab where I work) and of course I want to collect the answers of the participants on the server. Basically, all the data I need is in the .csv file the browser download at the end of the game. So I need to get that .csv file to be saved on the server instead of the user's computer. I thought the AJAX object might help, but it seems more complicated than I expected. So I'm asking for your help on that.

Here is the .capx. Note that I used the BHT smart random plugin :

drive.google.com/open

Another, less important question :

The abbreviations I am studying are made of two words (or "constituants", hereafter C1 and C2). In the draft, I only included 8 C1s and 2 sets of 8 C2s. Thus, you can see 24 text instances with different instance variables on the main layout, but outside the window. In the final version, I will have 120 C1s and 2 sets of 120C2s. All the informations about those C1s/C2s are all ready in a Excel file. So I would like to know if there is any way not to create manually each instance of text, or even not using text instances at all. Basically my question is "do you know an elegant way to put all informations on my C1s/C2s in the game" ?

Anyway, it's not gonna take too much time to do it manually, so my question is more about learning new stuff than anything.