How do I create a smooth slots machine reels animation

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Fully commented source code/event sheet & sprites to create a space shooter game
  • Hi there

I'll warn you guys upfront that I'm fairly new to C2.

I'm trying to figure out how to create a smooth reels animation of a multi-line slots machine.

I tried the following 2 methods (CAPX attached):

1. using a strip with all symbols on the reel in a tiled background and shifting it top to bottom using the Y position parameter.

2. using individual sprites pinned to a container while shifting the container to to bottom using bullet speed.

I prefer the 2nd method as I want the symbols to be animated in case of winning + I'm thinking on building the reels dynamically after getting positions from server.

In both methods I bumped into a serious issue, when I moved the reels slow everything worked great.

BUT when I bumped the speed up a bit the newly created "next-to-be-shown-reel" (on top of the one displayed now) was created in weird places.

sometimes overlapping the currently displayed reel and sometimes in a wide variable offset and the reel spin is not smooth.

so, after this long preface I have several questions

1. how can I achieve a smooth reel spin effect?

2. do you have a better idea on how to implement a slots machine.

3. how can I create a short easing effect at the end of the reel spin, I want the reel to be pushed up a bit in order to get the "lock-in-place" effect.

Thank you,

Yaniv Golan

• Well, I'll be honest: I didn't look at the .capx

1 & 2: What I would do would be create the reels as sprites. Since sprites have a built-in animation, you could have the reel simply stop animating at whatever frame the button is hit. You can also change the framerate on the animation without affecting anything else.