Why do you make games?

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Easily generate many levels from a set of pre-built scenes (Construct 3 template)
  • I'd love to know, for me it's the ultimate in creative playground, I'm bloody good at it and I've been doing it for over 20 years. It's a question Rami Ismail asks in his most recent talk as his company Vlambeer, and a question we should keep asking ourselves, as I'm sure the dynamics change over time.

I ask, because last night (as you do), I wrote a blog post on my website, an honest account of "Why I nearly quit game development" in the last month or so for good and thought I would share it with you all. Read it here. I know I'm not the only developer out there who's struggled and I hope it resonates or helps even just one of my fellow developers.

So, why do you make games?

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Honestly, it's always been a dream of mine, ever since I started playing video games! I guess the Nintendo and Micro Geniuses really impacted me that greatly. And when I played Final Fantasy VII....I saw games in a whole new light and always thought, wow I wish I was part of the people who could unleash our own fantasies and create worlds for other people to see and live it.

• The question is interesting, my motivations changed over the years: warning huge wall of words and moment of coolstorybro

At first, it was just a "I wanna try it just to have a grasp on the concept", during this period, I realised I liked doing it, thinking about the logic behind, creating the world and interactions even at a small scale, however the syntax of languages I tried was just a no go, so I decided to try another approach. (I was pretty young at the time)