Top-View Shooter (Questions)

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Top-down cars vector illustrations in 12 different colors.
  • Hello, I currently did the Ghost Shooter tutorial a couple weeks ago and have advanced it quite a bit, especially with the help of PixelRebirth for helping me with some issues, and clutter.

I am wondering however how I should/can do the top-down view resources. I normally am used to RPGs, and 3D games, and I've never done any top-view graphics before ever, and don't know exactly how to either.

Guess my main question atm is: Can anybody help me with the graphics, or point me to some player/environment templates for a top-down view?

Thanks, "Az - Ruler of Worlds". Hehe.

• top-view shooters are without a doubt the easiest (graffix wise) games to make, you can get by without any animations, and worlds are generally just repeating textures with things placed on top.

pretty much the reason they're my game of choice to make to flesh out an idea.

but for the character, if your not to terribly great at drawing, i recommended using the bone moment, i sure you can draw simple shapes like circles and what not and with a little shading they can look pretty good.

textures for the ground you can just grab off the internet("free ground texture" Google)

objects and walls are probably your trickiest thing, but a birds eye view is kind-of an unusual way to look at the world, so you got a lot of room to mess up.

heres the beginning of a current TD-shooter i'm working on with the bone movement, to give you an idea of what i'm talking about.

wasd - move

lmb -fire

rmb- aim

esc- exit

shift- run

http://www.mediafire.com/?92khuc4at8nhk73

(there is a lag in animation when switching to and from running, and just ignore the missing sound files) it is what it is.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads