Own your own Business!

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
  • I'm just curious; how many of you do this full time? As in, you dont have another job and are fully supported by something that you created and maintain via Construct.

If there are some of you out there, I have a ton of questions for you:

1. Do you create apps? Websites? Other?
    2. Do you have a team? Do you outsource anything?
    3. How did you go about creating an audience?
    4. Do you mostly focus on one thing or a portfolio of things?
    5. You dont need to give exact details, but your rough MRR? And, how many hours do you put in per week?
    6. What advice do you have for people that aspire to do what you do?

Thanks friends <3

Tagged:

• I've been using Construct for about 8 years, the last 3 of which I've been using it full-time. I'd love to say that I have a ton of published games that generate a passive income, but that's not the case.

I work predominately on corporate games - making games for companies to market their products. Any extra revenue is used to buy time to work on my own games.

Here are my answers in your format:

1: Games and apps, with the occasional website.

2: Yes. I work with a team of artists and other devs who provide the graphics/audio/etc., and backend support I need to integrate with corporate systems (customer loyalty, tracking, rewards).

3: I don't! That's the one really nice thing about doing corporate work - they already have the audience :)

4: It's a range of products. I'm usually juggling at least 3 at any one time.

5: I put in at least 40 hours a week. I'm not one for overworking myself anymore. Burnout is real!

6: Start small and never stop networking. Build a reputation while you're building your skills. Don't over-promise, but don't hesitate to challenge yourself.