Donation model for specific features?

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
  • Hey guys,

As some of you might know, I've been using Construct for a couple of months now to create a game - things are coming along really nicely, still, there are quite a few things left that I'd love to see in Construct and it seems like the devs are already really busy polishing Construct for 1.0.

A lot of times here features are being suggested that'd be way sweet to have in Construct, features that'd be ideal for an experienced programmer to design and create in his free time - so that the devs wouldn't have to worry about every single, little detail by themselves. The problem is that there's probably a lack of motivation amongst experienced programmers to do stuff like that in their free time.

So my idea is... wouldn't it be cool if we could put up donation threads for specific features? Say, you're working on a game and there's this single, awesome idea that you have, you already designed it on paper and it could be really cool to see this in a game - but the devs won't have time to implement that certain feature that'd allow you do implement your idea. So, as an artist, you're sorta screwed when this happens.

Now, in a case like this, we could put up a donation thread and everyone could join in - everyone would put up a donation, all the money would add up and the programmer that delivers gets the money.

That way, the community could propose features that should be developed and programmers would have an extra motivation to go out and create something - win / win.

The amount of money being donated could be set by each and every user, based on how complicated it'd be to implement it - so if you _really_ need a feature to get your game done, you could contribute and hope that a programmer takes care of it.

We could set up pricing like 10- 20 bucks for simple stuff like pixel shaders or a higher amount of cash for more complex features.