Should I change from Construct2?

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
  • Yesterday , I went for a meeting with a large game development office in Lebanon. I was really happy that they have seen my abilities and I showed them my projects which I made with cosntruct2. The problem is that say said I have great abilities but construct2 engine is visual for artists and designers thus I need to change to some real coding on Unity3D and visual Studio , Eclipse etc...

They want me for an inetrship in summer and thus I must have learned C# , C++ , javascript etc.. till then.

Thus what do you recommend? after-all I'm a programmer not a designer in general.

• Surely it's the results, not the tools, that matter? Maybe show them some of the top C2 games (The Next Penelope, Airscape etc) to show them what it can really do.

• Well is that not what you have wanted all along ? As an intern under seasoned programmers you will learn a great deal more than on your own . The learning curve for the languages they want you to learn is a little steep and the time frame a little short , but with your ambition and thirst to become a programmer , you should make it just fine . I wish you luck and hope you succeed .

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • For 2d, I believe C2 can fulfill almost all needs, only question is can "direct" coding be more hardware effective.

• For 2d, I believe C2 can fulfill almost all needs

As long as those needs don't involve the major consoles, jitter-free solid framerates, dependable audio and so on and so on? C2 is awesome for quick things and in good hands for larger projects, but I suspect it's not going to be on the same page as Unity and Unreal Engine in the foreseeable future.

If there's a chance to learn one of the major engines out there with some pros I would jump on it, especially if you are a programmer.