Tilting a sprite

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Minimal Sprite Font with Stroke for Pixel Art games.
  • Hi guys.

I need to create an animation where a sprite tilts around its x axis.

Imagine a book standing up words on your desk, and then touching the top of the book with your finger, so it tilts backwards and lays flat on the desk.

The x axis is the surface of the desk.

This sort of 3d backwords tilting, is what I would like to create for a sprite. I am a developer not a designer, so I was looking for a tool that could take a png and then tilt it and export the animations as png files. Thought that would be easy, but this 3d like animation, is not something I have found a good solution for.

Does any of you know of a tool that can do this? tilt an image around the x axis?

• Hi Are you wanting to do this dynamically or could you work with prepared animations?

• I prefer to do it with prepared animation. This is the only animation my sprite is going to have. So I prefer to have prepared animation for this.

And I thought it would be easy to find a graphics tool that could do this simple kind of animation. I do not need a 3d rendering, and realistic output.

• You might find this thread useful Let us know if that doesn't get you there.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • It is not managing the animation in construct 2 that I have a problem with. It is creating the animation.

I have not found a good tool to animate a sprite around the x-asis, because that is a 3D animation. I use spriter to animate in the x and y directions, but around x (which is really z direction) like a tilting book.

And since I am not a graphical designer, but a developer, I would like to find a solution that is just as easy as spriter.

• nope. you've got it wrong. if you want to do 3Dish look, you need to rotate around Y. because in 2D you have x and y only.