Programmer needed to implement basic 2D platformer mechanics

0 favourites
  • 2 posts
From the Asset Store
Top down zombie survival mechanics pack in the style of Cannon Fodder.
  • Hello there, I am currently working on a relatively simple 2D action-platformer side-scroller called After the Light. I have been working with game design (and Construct) for roughly 3 years, and I've found that my initial game idea was a bit too ambitious for me to complete more or less on my own -- unless I want to spend half a decade on it, that is. So instead I've started work on a kind of "downsized" version of that original idea, based on a different concept I've had knocking around my head for a while.

Programming is my weakest area of game development -- the art, sound, gameplay and level design are all things I can mostly handle, and while I'm not completely useless in terms of programming, I'd much rather have someone who knows what they're doing help me get the game up and running so that I avoid any early pitfalls and can get the game's basic mechanics implemented in a way that I can build on later.

As I mentioned my game is called After the Light (or ATL). It is sidescroller with a heavy emphasis on exploration, combined with some fairly simplistic combat that combines both melee, shooting, and magic alongside the various traversal abilities used for platforming. The game's influences are things like Mario, Metroid, Castlevania, and Megaman, as well more recent titles such as Hyper Light Drifter, Axiom Verge, and Dead Cells.

For now, the main thing I want is to get a semi-dynamic lighting system going, along with the traversal abilities up and running, since without those implemented I'm unable to really dig in and start building levels -- any combat related things will come later, once all the movement and traversal mechanics are implemented and working smoothly.