Team development patterns/practices for C2?

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
You can become a REAL game developer. Learn the basics and get resources that will let you get profits from your game!
  • I do initially have the paid Indie "personal" version of C2. For some reason my gold badge isn't displaying. Not sure why but that's a side question...

I've been developing software on teams, professionally for many years but I have to admit, working with and learning C2 has been both very fun and very challenging in certain ways. The challenging bits for me so far is figuring out how to break up a C2 project for a team using source control.

I've read a couple articles here and they've got me started thinking, but I believe the project could be broken down a lot further than what I've read so far suggests. As an old school team coder (13 years actually), I'm used to breaking the app functionality out into logical tiers and classes with lots of small focused code files. I feel I can basically do this in C2 by working hard to keep global variables to an absolute minimum, separate my game logical components into many small Event Sheets and use lots of Includes. Am I thinking about this the right way? So my question is: Are you working on a team using C2 and source control (I like Git) and if so how did you break down your code so the team could work effectively and not have to merge conflicting code over and over every day?

Thanks a lot, lot, lot for your advice! Working in a coding "GUI" like C2 is a totally new experience for me. I'm pretty psyched about learning this tool

Mark

• No one is working on a team using source control?

• Are there any detailed articles/tutorials on this? I read the basic ones. Was hoping for a few replies from people doing team dev with more details and suggestions.

Anyone?...

• The most basic trick I can think of to avoid conflicts is to have programmers prefix their objects/variables with their initials.