Creating an online level browser for user submitted levels

0 favourites
  • 3 posts
From the Asset Store
This is a single chapter from the Construct Starter Kit Collection and the Student Workbook from the Workshop.
  • The game I've been developing for the past 3 years has a level editor which allows user created levels to be shared between players. I'm close to a point where I'm considering early access (open alpha) and I need to start thinking about how are people actually going to share their levels.

As of right now, it's super easy to export the level code with a few clicks, shared on a website like pastebin and imported by copy/pasting it inside the editor. That's fine and I'm willing to use this method for now (I mean look a Path of Exile for example, 50% of this game is played outside of the client [joking of course]), but I kind of want to make this process more integrated into the game itself. The game is not locked to a specific platform or launcher so it needs to have its own way of handling this logic.

These are challenges I see:

• User authentication (for submissions)
    • Level code and metadata storage
    • Level approval and status
    • Level rating and stats
    • Level filtering (browse and search)

And with that in mind these are the possible scenarios I see:

• Integrate everything in-game, submission, searching, voting, etc.
    • Move submission to an online platform outside of the game while having the searching and voting in-game
    • Moving everything to an online platform including submission, searching and voting.
    • Forget about everything and have manual sharing between users (as it is right now) while select few levels can be featured directly in-game and updated regularly with new ones.

As a front-end developer with limited back-end knowledge I know how this could work and might even be able to code the app myself with some outside (stackoverflow) help.