Capitalism 2 / Patrician 3 / SimCity 4

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
  • Hi,

I'm new to Construct 2 but have some basic Javascript coding knowledge and experience.

I want to make a strategy/business simulation game. If Capitalism 2, Patrician 3 and Sim city 4 were to get together for a wild night of passion, 9 months later you would get my game.

In reality my game is a Real Estate Agent Tycoon game. You start off as a brand new Real Estate Agent, in a small neighborhood, working by yourself out of your home office. Without getting into the specifics of the business, as you run your business and make money and grow you can start hiring assistants, and other agents to work for you. Eventually open your own office. Then open offices in other neighborhood and possibly other cities/countries.

It would resemble the 3 games I mentioned in that it would be very dynamic and play out in real time, as opposed to turn-based, with the possibility to pause, slow and accelerate the passage of time. There is also no character to control on screen. Instead it's all about menus and buttons and different screens and views (a world view, a city view and possibly an office view) and some stats. Like those games it would run on top of a sophisticated economy and market simulation and you would compete against other NPCs that are trying to do the same thing as you.

A few questions for you:

• There are so many aspects to this game, what would you design/code first?
    • In fact, if you had to build a game like this, can you give me a rough idea of the order in which you would do things?
    • Not 100% new to Javascript and coding but I am new to Construct 2. I've been doing the tutorials, reading the manual and reading the forums for the past week. I have yet to find someone who uses/used Construct 2 to build this type of game, or anything remotely similar. Be honest with me: can it realistically be done in Construct 2? Is it the right tool for the job?