Best approach to working with/hiring someone for your project?

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Best car suspension with spring effect and very cool terrain generation.
  • Hey everyone. I'm working on a game that I've decided to try and make my first commercial game. Normally I do everything myself but if I want to sell it, I can't do it with programmer art. I'm not sure how to go about this, so I'm looking for experiences from other people.

At the moment I see 2 options:

1. 1) Finish the game, then hire artist
    2. 2) Get someone on board and include them in the progress while the game organically evolves

Option 1 isn't that flexible. I'm still learning how to plan out a game entirely so I will constantly be adding/removing things depending on ideas and feedback.

Option 2 makes sense but I'm not sure how I would get someone to keep doing stuff if there's a break in development here or there.

So yeah, anyone else have experience with this?

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • It really depends on the game and at the stage where you are at now.

For example if you are in early or late stage of a matching 3 game, then it's ok to wait to hire someone at the end of the process, as long as you know a little bit about art and how to implement it. So for the programming part you should know that a 32x32 sprite is more efficient than a 34x34 one and therefore you will need to set your game for optmisation and pass the same info to the artist at the end.