How to get noticed?

0 favourites
  • man , you try to make games and you get super excited about and then you don't get even noticed. How can I can make my games be noticed and how to get noticed by people. I'm starting to lose self esteem about this. How does some indie games can make over 10,000+ views and plays in a short duration while my games barely 100 or 200 and that after a year ! Should someone pay to make ads and publicity or just publish the game and hope for the best?

• Well I am no expert but:

-be sure to be noticed by the search engines (have a trailer on youtube? Have a clear title and a good set of tags so random searches related can work out, have your game on a store or a website? Try to see what you can do so people wanting to try it or see its page can do it with almost no efforts, have other games? Maybe trying to use them to get the player to play your next game after, if the users can't find you directly by searching, they will probably not find you randomly).

-try to built up a community, or at least, a group of people that enjoys it, might not be effective but can still be valuable.

-polish the game as much as you can, looks way more like a complete creation that way (a lot of games I saw that were not commercial seems to lack polishing).

-some recommand trying to get in touch with LPers, while I do not think it will be the most effective (I watch let's players for games I won't ever play), it can still be something to try

Keep in mind I am not good at getting noticed though! So I might be wrong.

• Just keep at it. The longer you work at it, the more likely you'll be able to make that connection to players. Abandoning projects is way too common nowadays... So I think if you show you are active, players (on Steam and the app stores) will notice if you are updating regularly. Also it's not a bad idea to start a devlog or vlog and discuss the making of your game.. put yourself out there.. people love that stuff.