About unlimited framerate mode.

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
  • Is it bad to release a game using unlimited framerate mode? If so, can someone tell me why?

I find that in unlimited framerate mode your controller/keyboard input is registered quicker, the game is slightly faster, and the whole thing just seems more responsive. I don't notice any decrease in display quality or skipping or anything either. So long as I use timedelta well then it should be fine, right?

• Is it bad to release a game using unlimited framerate mode? If so, can someone tell me why?

I find that in unlimited framerate mode your controller/keyboard input is registered quicker, the game is slightly faster, and the whole thing just seems more responsive. I don't notice any decrease in display quality or skipping or anything either. So long as I use timedelta well then it should be fine, right?

Im not an expert but i have read the following-

Framerate mode: Controls how the game framerate runs:

V-Synced: The screen updates in sync with the monitor's refresh        rate. The best quality and smoothest display. Games should all use this option. See TimeDelta for related issues.

Unlimited: The screen updates as fast as possible with no waiting. Intended for testing your game's performance.

Fixed: Use the FPS property to manually specify a framerate. This will not be V-Synced so your game will exhibit tearing and poorer quality display.

• In unlimited framerate mode the cpu sends all orders to the gpu as soon as all calculations are done. This can produce side effects like tearing and your game is dependent on a fast pc with a fast graphics card.

While you may experience more responsiveness of your game, another player with lower specs will not. So every player will experience something else. You could of course define some minimum system requirements (preferably the ones of your developer system) to make sure, no one is disadvanteged.