Object Variables

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
Easily store, modify, read and manipulate colors with Color Variables!
  • Hi! I'm new to Construct and i've worked with mod programs like Warcraft III and SCII editors. I became interested in this program because i was told that it was similar in concept to the editors i was using. However, i have one question. Is it possible to make Object variables(variables that store Objects rather numbers)? Or is there some similar function to fulfill this task?

• Variables can only store numbers and text. Maybe use text in a way that helps you? (object name or such).

I don't know what you would use it for as I haven't tried the editors you mentioned, but a random guess is that maybe containers will help?

http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/c ... Containers

• Also, you could store the object's UID together with any info you need using a hashtable.

http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/construct/index.php?title=Hash_Table_Object

(Look at the example)

But most of the time you won't need to store the objects. Maybe you can explain what you're trying to achieve?

• Ermm...well it can be used for many instances. For example, i could use object variables to store the weapons of a character into an array and access them individually should i need it. While this can be done manually without object variables, it wouldn't be as efficient without it. Basically what i want to do with it is to be able to call it as a function to perform actions without having to duplicate the trigger for different objects.

EDIT: A good example would be what you see in Warcraft III or Starcraft 2 editors where you can store ANYTHING in a variable, from numbers to text to different types of objects. Saves alot of effort and makes your triggers more efficient. =/

• Yes you can do that, but you have to remember that Construct isn't an editor.

Rather its more like a programing language, without the need for scripting.