Keep jumping when hitting a solid

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
Jump on candies, collect candies and earn score!!!
  • Hey everyone,

Currently, when my character hits a roof (solid) his jump is ended immediately and he falls down. Is there a small option that allows me to finish the jump (ie don't fall down immediately) or do I have to create this ability myself?

If you don't know what I'm talking about, I can recommend to play this game: http://www.kongregate.com/games/Arkeus/diamond-hollow

It's a great platformer with very good gameplay. On of the things is that, when you hit a platform, you don't fall down immediately and can still move in the air. This allows the player to have more control over the character and improves the playability a lot.

(I've learned a lot of small things by playing this game, I can really recommend playing it!)

• For your problem what I would do is create the event for finishing the the jump. I'm not an expert,I just started out using construct so I don't know all the options. If you haven't done this tutorial about platforms yet, it may be useful:

PS that game in kongregate looks cool, thanks for sharing.

• Muurtegel, I've never experienced the problem that you're having so I'm not sure what's going on there. Are you using Platform Behavior or your own events?

When I make a sprite with Platform Behavior and jump into the ceiling, I don't fall straight down and I am still able to maneuver the sprite as it falls.

Or perhaps I'm not understanding the issue correctly. Could you post a .cap showing the problem that you're having?

• When I make a sprite with Platform Behavior and jump into the ceiling, I don't fall straight down and I am still able to maneuver the sprite as it falls.

I'm pretty sure he wants the sprite to push against the ceiling until the jump is over and the sprite starts falling.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.