access elasticity

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
  • Hi Folks,

This is my first time using Construct - I like it very much!I have some questions, though, I'd very much appreciate a solution

• Is it possible to access the physics elasticity in runtime? That is can I change a the elasticity value of a spawned object?
    • When I store the UID of an object in another objects private variable "parent", could I acess this stored object in a way like: (cube.Value('parent')).X ? I know that this does not work, but maybe there is a way to access the object in a similar way? The only solution I had is:

pick object by comparison cube.Value('parent') is Equal to circle.UID

This does work, yet only if you also know the kind of obect that the parent is. When you want to be more flexible, like spawn a bullet from different kind of enemies and store from which enemy (the parent), and access some variabel of the enemy, how would you achieve this in a more flexible way?

Thanks for replies,

Maenny

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • - When I store the UID of an object in another objects private variable "parent", could I acess this stored object in a way like: (cube.Value('parent')).X ? I know that this does not work, but maybe there is a way to access the object in a similar way? The only solution I had is:

pick object by comparison cube.Value('parent') is Equal to circle.UID

This does work, yet only if you also know the kind of obect that the parent is. When you want to be more flexible, like spawn a bullet from different kind of enemies and store from which enemy (the parent), and access some variabel of the enemy, how would you achieve this in a more flexible way?

1. You could store a value in a "enemyType" variable, I guess.