Particle Fade-in

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
19 glow particle sprites in 4 colors and different shapes.
  • Hi guys!

I was just wondering: Is it too difficult to add a "particle fade in" value to the particle plug-in?

I wanted this so hard, but I have little experience on programming. If you guys say it's easy, I'd try to do it!

I'm trying to create a soothing, calm clouds, but they appear with the opacity already on 100%, so it kinda spoils the mood... Any other tips on achieving this effect?!

• Have the actual sprite use a stronger transparency that decreases per frame? Or put them on a layer and change the layer opacity instead?

• Try to create the particles as small as possible and let them grow over time, so it's not so obvious that they appear at 100% opacity...

Or you could try to move them upwards/sideways and make the part where they are created covered by an other object.

Thats how i worked around the problem in a 3D game. I spwaned the particles below the ground and let them move upwards slowly.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Yeah, that's what I was doing: Making the particles flow from the outside of the layout... But the effect isn't quite what I wanted

But anyway, don't you guys think a "particle fade in" parameter would be a nice addition?

• Yeah, actually there are several parameters the particles would benefit from, but so far the answer has been that they are pretty complex already. Seems like you are better off just spawning objects with the necessary behaviors. It's not too hard either. Just do a repeat or every x ms event.