Not good with sprites

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
2D fighting template based in the game that defined the fighting games genre.
  • I'm not good with original sprites.

I avoid making games which involve sprites that have detailed frames for movement or actions.

Do many people feel the same?

I would like to know how other people have gotten past this hurdle.

Wang.

• Well, first off, there's always plenty of people out there who would love to see there artwork put into a game-- so you could always find a collaborator...

But if you mean you have trouble drawing sprites on like.. a computer.. you could always get a wacom tablet-- there are nice ones that cost 80 dollars-- and they are a good investment.

If you have trouble animating the sprites then there are lots of programs that are specifically designed for animation--TVP Paint is one that comes to mind-- there is also a light-table plugin for photoshop.

And of course, the easiest way to animate stuff without actually drawing a bunch of individual frames would be the bone movement behavior.

• For now, I'm trying to avoid it by making only top view games, there is little to non animation

• Practice and work hard at it. It's the only way to get better at something. If you are motivated enough you will become good with time. People who are skilled at art became good with tons of practice. Look at art that inspires you and study it. No one is good at something when they're just starting out.

• I'm not good with original sprites.

I avoid making games which involve sprites that have detailed frames for movement or actions.

Do many people feel the same?

I would like to know how other people have gotten past this hurdle.

Wang.

With me I use Poser and Daz 3D. Spirit building is something I been working on for some time. My prob is Coding and learning the engines to build a game.