Container + turret problem

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
  • Hello all,

I'm a bit new to Construct, but I've chewed through the demos and tutorials. So far, I've gotten pretty far on an idea but I'm currently stuck, even after searching through the forums.

I'm trying to make a controllable row of soldiers. Nothing very fancy, just add a soldier sprite to a couple turrets, and add turrets to a rectangular container, right? Well, just one additional feature - I want to make the soldiers/turrets individually destructable. They get shot, go boom as individuals instead of ALL of them at once, basically. That's my goal.

Is this possible with containers? if so, how?

if not, what would be a good alternative?

• I don't think thats possible with containers. I dont think containers were designed to be used for things like this.

You can do this using variables and other things... No time right now so I'm sure someone else will reply and help you out.

• You want to use Pairer Object for this. You pair the soldier and turret, etc., when one gets shot, the other doesn't get destroyed.

• Welp, I realized I didn't quite explain what I was wanting to do correctly. My goal is to make a controllable row of destructable units, that stay in formation. You control the entire row, not the individual units. Kinda like a unit of fighters in Home World. Each fighter in the row can be destroyed individually, but the player controls the entire row.

The original idea I had was to use a container and turrets. You take a rectangle, attach 4 turrets to it in a row, and attach a soldier sprite to each turret. The problem is that if you pile everything into a container, and you destroy 1 turret, all turrets in the container get destroyed.