Javascript questions

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
  • Luckily I have actually started using Javascript a couple of months ago. but I'm still an absolute beginner at it. So I have a couple of simple questions.

What I'm trying to do is clear an array (as the input may have varying lengths), get a string split and put it in said array and then get the arrays length and put it in a global number.

But what is throwing me for a loop is how to actually access said values and arrays. as they are a global values and an array object. Like I said. total beginner.

Tagged:

• I moved this to the scripting section.

It would probably be easier to help if you shared your code so far - have you got something written and you're stuck about what to do next? Or are you asking about where to start?

• thanks Ashley,

the problem is more that my code is probably not making any sense as I do not know how to access other parts. what I'm doing is as following

function stringSplit(){

var x = inputString.value.toLowerCase();

CommandArray = x.split(' ');

}

inputstring is a global string. CommandArray is an Array object. and I'm activating this script in block ( which as I just thought of won't even call the code as of now)

but I might have been looking for answers in the wrong spot, as I was trying to search through the How do I?.. forum

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • It looks OK so far, just make sure CommandArray is declared somewhere first (e.g. let CommandArray;) since you can't assign to a variable that doesn't exist. Assuming you've done that, then you can just use CommandArray like an array.

• That's just the problem. I know that I need to define it before I can assign values. but how do I assign it to this array.

that's what I'm having trouble with understanding.