Javascript to detect when a word is wrapped

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Word Guess
$10 USD
Questions and answers are stored in simple txt-files. Cool animation of everything
  • Starts off with:

Everything works up to the point. What I need a line count based on the text wrap or line break.

Using tokencount(TextObject.Text,newline) won't work.

Instead of counting the breaks it returns how many lines in the .txt file.

Result

Example1 variable = 2

Example2 variable = 2

Example3 variable = 2

The result I am looking for is

Example1 variable = 5

Example2 variable = 2

Example3 variable = 3

Is there javascript I could use to recognize when a word is wrapped to the next line? I have read other forums with examples using Mutations to observe a change in the text but I am a beginner with Javascript so I don't fully understand the script.

Note: I just need to count the number of wraps. I have a workaround for text height, width, etc.

• The wrapping is done in constructs runtime, but I guess you can run through the wrapping logic yourself. The only tool we need is to be able get the width of any text with a given font. The text object has textWidth but last I checked it takes a tick to update in construct which isn’t ideal.

Here’s a algorithm to find the number of lines with word wrap. I’ll be a bit lazy and just use a single line of text like in your op.

Global number x=0
    Global number y=0
    Global number w=0
    Global text line=“four score...”

Start of layout
    Repeat tokencount(line, “ “) times
    — set w to text.textWidth(tokenat(line, loopindex, “ “))
    — compare x+w+1 < text.width
    — — add w+1 to x
    — else
    — — add 1 to y
    — — set x to w

Basically at least. At the end of it y will be the number of lines. It requires resetting x and y if it’s used again.

Anyways since the textWidth expression is delayed a tick and you’re after how to do it with js here’s an idea.

This is the function you’re after: