Got some editor questions

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Supports 1D, 2D, 3D arrays. Import and export arrays in JSON format
  • Hello!

Just a couple questions/comments about the javascript functionality:

1. While editing a script, hitting escape reverts all changes since you last clicked outside the script editor. I think a pop-up would be appropriate here - "You're about to lose your changes. Are you sure?" or something to that effect. I'm a javascript developer in my day job and while I feel comfortable using your built in editor, I've already run into a couple instances where I hit escape like I would normally in my IDE, and I ended up losing progress in the script I was working on. At the very least, is there an option to turn this into a save action instead of discard action?

2. Will there be external IDE support in the future?

Love the app so far! I can't believe how easy and quick it has been to get things working how I want them. Even being a programmer professionally, I've only started messing with the javascript feature just to test it because the visual event system has been so easy to use.

Tagged:

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • +1 on the ESC key QoL comment, I have done the same a number of times.

• Yup I can confirm the esc key behaviour is frustrating... I personally try to only have function calls in the event sheet script blocks, and put the actual function declarations in a script file. Minimises this issue for the most part, and the text editor itself is more practical for large chunks of script anyway.