How do I call function by name?

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
Voice call plugin based on webrtc protocol for construct 3
  • Hi,

i found this topic where the answer was given which says to use scripting.

But I tried and it doesn't work, I'm not very experienced in scripting so can you explain me how to do it?

I'm not clear if I also have to write my function via script or it's fine with the construct editor too (it would be easier that way).

construct.net/en/forum/construct-3/how-do-i-8/call-function-name-146123

• This is the correct syntax:

runtime.callFunction("prova");

• Thanks for the replies.

Could you also tell me what is the correct syntax for the parameters?

I still don't know javascipt very well and I don't understand what "e" means ( (...command.split(",").map(e => e.trim())) )

Shouldn't the syntax for entering the parameters also be the one in this image? I tried but it doesn't work. Instead your example does.

• If you know the exact number of parameters, then just list them after the function name, for example with two parameters:

runtime.callFunction("prova", 10, 20);

or

runtime.callFunction("prova", "text", "some other text");

• The simplest example.

runtime.callFunction("myFunction");

with parameters

runtime.callFunction("myFunction", Parameter0);
    	runtime.callFunction("myFunction", Parameter0, Parameter1);

with local variable

const parm1 = localVars.Variable1;
    	runtime.callFunction("myFunction", parm1);

with global variable

const parm1 = runtime.globalVars.Variable1;
    	runtime.callFunction("myFunction", parm1);

with Instance variable

const player = runtime.objects.Sprite.getFirstInstance();
    	const playerScore = player.instVars["Score"];
    	runtime.callFunction("myFunction", playerScore);

with Instance behaviors property

const player = runtime.objects.Sprite.getFirstInstance();
    	const playerMaxSpeed = player.behaviors.Platform.maxSpeed;
    	runtime.callFunction("myFunction", playerMaxSpeed);